Book Blog – Likely Stories, from Booklist Online » Blog Archive » Overlooked Books: Betty Webb Recommends Emily St. John Mandel
Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 130,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers - from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

| | | | | | | | | | |
Book Blog - Likely Stories, by Keir Graff - Booklist Online

Likely Stories

A Booklist Blog
Keir Graff and editors from Booklist's adult and youth departments write candidly about books, book reviewing, and the publishing industry

« »

Friday, May 7, 2010 11:45 am
Overlooked Books: Betty Webb Recommends Emily St. John Mandel
Posted by: Keir Graff

Betty WebbIf you’ve been reading Likely Stories at all this month, then you know we’ve had a terrific lineup of mystery writers sharing some of their favorite overlooked books. Today we hear from Betty Webb, who writes about the Scottsdale, Arizona PI Lena Jones. Booklist reviewer Barbara Bibel called Desert Lost (2009) “a complex, exciting entry in a first-class series . . . an excellent read-alike for Sue Grafton fans.” Here’s Webb’s own rave:The Singer's Gun

It just kills me that not more people have read Emily St. John Mandel’s The Singer’s Gun (2010), which combines post-9/11 anxiety with an almost-religious mysticism. New York businessman Anton Walker was raised in a crime family and against his father’s wishes, is trying to stay honest. Just as Anton starts to enjoy life on the straight-and-narrow side of the street, he is blackmailed into committing a crime which alerts a federal terrorism task force. In this complex thriller, love, loyalty — even cats and straw hats — provide pathways to redemption.

Comments

comments


Leave a Reply



© 2014 Booklist Online. Powered by WordPress.
Quoted material should be attributed to:
Keir Graff, Likely Stories (Booklist Online).




HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BLOGS | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | SUBSCRIBE
BOOKLIST PUBLICATIONS
American Library Association